The Facebook-owned, Instagram is continuing to build out its messaging section with a new feature that’s already available in popular apps like WhatsApp & Facebook Messenger. Instagram introduced most controversial ‘Last Seen’ feature very quietly.
Instagram has quietly introduced a new feature which allows people to see when you were last online on Instagram.
Everyone Can Know Your Last Seen Activity Status On Instagram
According to The Next Web, the latest version of Instagram on Android and iOS now reveals your Activity Status.
Many people feel helpful with this provision of a ‘seen’ message. As it would be of benefit to professional and businesses which have posted some important message or image and would be keen to know if it has been read or not.
Instagram is now showing your activity status by default in direct messages: this means that all your friends will now be able to see when you were last available online or when the last time you were actively using the app.
The activity status is currently only visible in direct messages. From the direct messages screen, people you follow or have previously have the conversation with can now see when you were last using Instagram. On the other side, you can now see when other people were last on Instagram.
Fortunately, the good thing about this new feature is that Instagram has given users an option to enable or disable their Activity Status visibility to everyone. Here’s how you can do this:
- Open the app and head to Settings.
- Scroll down until you see the new ‘Show Activity Status’ option.
- Toggle the feature on/off.
Please note that disabling activity status means you won’t be able to see other people’s last activity either.